top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDean Henry

First Meeting in the Books!

Updated: Sep 16, 2018

The first meeting of the 2018-2019 year was held on September 11, 2018.




Introducing the New Mission

President Adrienne Whaley kicked off the season by introducing the new AAGG Mission & Vision Statements. These were developed in conjunction with the Executive Committee over the summer. The Executive Committee was introduced along with the Committee Chairs. She then made an appeal to those attending to volunteer to assistance with one or more committees.



September Meeting Program

The September meeting covered the need to develop a genealogy research plan. "Ordering Your Research Steps for Success" was presented, including Using the Right Tools to Collect the Right Materials, Plan to Be Organized, Start With Yourself and Work Backwards, Interview Those Whos Memories are Most Fragile, Develop a Timeline and Study Historical Context, and Problem-Solve Brick Walls. The genealogy research plan was described as determining: What do I want to know? What Do I Already Know And How Do I Know It? What Is My Hypothesis? What Steps Can I Take to Answer This Question? To Prove / Disprove My Hypothesis? What Resources Should I Check for Information?



#membermeeting

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page